Please visit the Club's website https://www.dloc.org.uk/ to join. Visit https://www.dloc.org.uk/adhoc to DONATE towards the cost of the forum.
Please don't post someone's email address to avoid it being harvested by spambots and it's against GDPR regulations.
Always look at "ACTIVE TOPICS" to see all posts in date & time order as they are sometimes moved; or look at "Your Posts".
Please add Reg. nrs. when posting a photo or anything about a car as this will help searches. Don't add punctuation next to nr. as this negates search.
CHANGED YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS since registering?, click your username and check your address in User Control Panel, Profile, Account Settings.
If you want help to register, use "contact us" at page bottom for help.

MIG welders

Technical issues not related to a DLOC car marque, eg tyres, ethanol, other car makes, etc. and legal, political and insurance
Phillmore
Wise Man
Wise Man

MIG welders

Post by Phillmore »

Looking to get a MIG welder. I'm new to MIG welding and have only used ARC welders in the past which I found excellent for making more holes than I had before! I'm after quality not cheapness and the Portamig 165 seems to have an impressive spec (if a little expensive). Any advice from you seasoned welders?
Andy

1954 Conquest Mk1, 1956 Conquest Mk2, 1957 Conquest Century Mk2, 1955 Austin A90 Westminster

Chris_R
Wise Man
Wise Man

Re: MIG welders

Post by Chris_R »

Have a look also at www.r-techwelding.co.uk - a friend has one of these and rates it quite highly.

JohnM

Post by JohnM »

Hi Andy,
two sites I've found really useful are::
http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/
and
https://www.thewelderswarehouse.com/

I get all my consumables from the second one, and a lot of advice on the first!