Please visit the Club's website https://www.dloc.org.uk/ to join. Visit https://www.dloc.org.uk/adhoc to DONATE towards the cost of the forum.
Please don't post someone's email address to avoid it being harvested by spambots and it's against GDPR regulations.
Always look at "ACTIVE TOPICS" to see all posts in date & time order as they are sometimes moved; or look at "Your Posts".
Please add Reg. nrs. when posting a photo or anything about a car as this will help searches. Don't add punctuation next to nr. as this negates search.
CHANGED YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS since registering?, click your username and check your address in User Control Panel, Profile, Account Settings.
If you want help to register, use "contact us" at page bottom for help.

Lanchester 10

Jamesgeary

Lanchester 10

Post by Jamesgeary »

Hi all,

First I am a total novice as a mechanic - so be gentle! I bought a Lanchester 10 at auction on a whim and love it. I would like to maintain it myself but clearly have a lot of learning to do.

I have two specific questions which I would be most grateful for answers to:

1 When I fill the tank with fuel, the only way I know it is full is when petrol pours onto the forecourt! I believe this is because the tank is at a lower level than the filler pipe and there seems to be some sort of vent (?) on the top of the tank through which the petrol flows before it is able to cut off the flow of fuel. I don't have a fuel gauge on the dashboard. Can anyone advise?

2 I am certain that I should top-up/replace the oils in both the fluid flywheel and the rear axel. Can anyone tell me what sort of oils I should be using?

many thanks in advance

James

Norfolk Lad
Wise Man
Wise Man

Re: Lanchester 10

Post by Norfolk Lad »

James the first thing we need is what year and model as there is more then one ten , if a La the back axle oil differs from a LD the other advice is buy a manual which was with the car when new.